Through The Beholder’s Eye…

“I think there is beauty in everything. What ‘normal’ people would perceive as ugly, I can usually see something of beauty in it.”

Alexander McQueen

If you ask me, McQueen was onto something. There’s a stigma in our society against anyone who doesn’t conform to expectations. There is a specific idea of what is beautiful and what is not, and we are told from day one to fit into that definition. The same close-mindedness that causes wars keeps us from appreciating our differences and instead teaches us to pick each other apart. Not that I’m comparing Hitler to Joan Rivers, but it isn’t hard to see how ridiculing those who look/dress differently could turn into something more sinister. Shows like Fashion Police encourage discrimination and don’t allow for alternative definitions of beauty.

I created this blog because I believe in the beauty of “ugly” and “weird.” I don’t think fashion should help us blend in. Your body is a canvas, and everything you put on it is just paint. I found myself much happier when I stopped trying to make myself acceptable and began using clothes, makeup, and accessories to express my thoughts and emotions. The commercial notion of “the It Look” limits how we can present ourselves to the world, especially for those who fall outside of the gender binary. The idea that girls wear dresses and boys wear suits is outdated and I think that the young people embracing alternative, daring looks are going to be the ones who change the fashion industry for good. I created this blog because I want to help.

So if you’re here because you just can’t go shopping with your parents, welcome. If you’re here because you like black, welcome. And if you’re here because you just feel different, WELCOME. I hope that my blog will inspire you to create your very own AlternIt Look.

gif by magicblood.tumblr.com

gif by magicblood.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

